The Reality of Doing Blog


Playing to the Edge
April 1, 2009, 11:27 am
Filed under: Posts | Tags: , , ,

At the risk of sounding like some sort of self-help guru, I want to share some really valuable information that I learned a few weeks ago while attending the Acting Success Now seminar with Robert & Michelle Colt.

Playing to the Edge
The idea of playing to the edge is best expressed when comparing it to practicing yoga. Even if you don’t practice yoga, I’m sure you will get the analogy.

In yoga there are three types of people.

  • those who don’t push themselves hard enough and therefore do not fully experience the benefits of yoga
  • those who push too far and injure themselves
  • those who play to the edge

The idea of playing to the edge is pushing yourself just far enough to be outside of your comfort zone, but not so hard that you cause yourself pain.

Yoga is about listening to your body. And I am the first to admit that I am push-myself-to-pain kind of person. Don’t give me a limitation, or tell me I can’t do something – because I will work my ass off to prove you wrong (sounds kind of painful to me). And for a while, I haven’t been listening to the pain that I have been causing myself – stressed out, uptight and not fully being in the moment.

So I’m opting to back off a little. I’m not saying that I have given up on anything – but I’m not in pain. I am working far enough outside my comfort zone to be uncomfortable and allowing myself to fully experience the benefits of growth and real success.

Where are you today in pursuing your dream of being an actor? Do you need to step it up and push yourself a little harder (maybe take a class, set up your website, shoot some scenes for you reel)? Or maybe you’re pushing yourself too hard and need to back off to allow yourself to heal from the pain that you may be causing.

I won’t lie that it’s a delicate balance, and certianly feels uncomfortable for a type-A person like myself. But as I have been reminded lately: Life is unfolding as it should. Can I let it be?

I’ll playing at the edge, hope to see you there.

photo credit gosia janik